governance TEam


CPLC High-Level Assembly Co-Chairs


Minister Catherine McKenna
Minister of Environment and Climate Change, Canada


Catherine McKenna practiced competition and international trade law in Canada and Indonesia and was senior negotiator with the United Nations Peacekeeping Mission in East Timor. She also served as senior advisor on the former Chief Justice Antonio Lamer’s review of Canada’s military justice system. Catherine co-founded Canadian Lawyers Abroad, a charitable organization that works in developing countries and with Indigenous communities in Canada. She served as Executive Director of the Banff Forum, a public policy organization for young leaders. Catherine taught at the Munk School of Global Affairs. Catherine has degrees from McGill University and the London School of Economics. She is a member of the Law Society of Upper Canada and the New York Bar.

Catherine was elected on October 19, 2015 and was appointed Minister of Environment and Climate Change on November 4, 2015. Catherine and her husband live in Ottawa with their three children.

Gérard Mestrallet
Chairman of SUEZ and Honorary Chairman of ENGIE


Gérard Mestrallet is a graduate of École Polytechnique and École Nationale d’Administration. After occupying various positions in the Treasury Department and in the office of the Minister of Economics and Finance, Mr. J. Delors, Gérard Mestrallet joined the Compagnie Financière de SUEZ as a Project Manager. In 1986, he was appointed Executive Vice-President for industrial affairs. In 1991, Gérard Mestrallet was appointed Executive Director and Chairman of the Management Committee of Société Générale de Belgique.

In 1995, he became Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Compagnie de SUEZ. Gérard Mestrallet was Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of GDF SUEZ (now ENGIE) following the merger between SUEZ and Gaz de France on July 22, 2008 until May 3, 2016, the date on which he became Chairman of the Board of Directors of ENGIE. Mr. Mestrallet is also the Chairman of the Paris EUROPLACE Association, honorary Chairman of the Chongqing Mayor’s International Economic Advisory Council, a member of the Shanghai and Beijing International Councils, Director of Tongji University (Shanghai) and Honorary Doctorate of Cranfield University (UK).


Steering Committee 


Jennifer Austin - Policy Director, We Mean Business

Femke de Jong (until Jan 2019) - Policy Director, Carbon Market Watch

Dirk Forrister - CEO and President, International Emissions Trading Association (IETA)

Marina Grossi - President, Brazilian Business Council for Sustainable Development (CEBDS)

Silke Karcher - EU Climate and Energy Policy, European Climate Initiative (EUKI), Carbon Markets

Enrique Lendo Fuentes - Former Head of International Affairs Unit, Ministry of Environment and Natural Resources (SEMARNAT), Mexico

Helen Mountford - Vice President, Climate & Economics, World Resources Institute & Program Director, New Climate Economy

Andres Velasco - Vice-Minister, Ministry of Finance and Public Credit, Colombia     

Derya Özet Yalgı - Sustainability Manager, Garanti Bank