High-Level Commission on Carbon Pricing and Competitiveness 

As governments and industry aim to achieve growth while also addressing the threat of climate change, carbon pricing, whether in the form of a carbon tax or an emissions trading scheme, has emerged as an indispensable part of a strategy to reducing emissions in an efficient way.

However, the possibility that putting a price on carbon may have an adverse effect on the competitiveness of a carbon-intensive firm, sector or country, is often a major concern for industry and policy makers considering the introduction of this type of policy.

For industry the concern is partially about the low-carbon transition challenge and partially about the potential for international competitors to have an unfair advantage if they do not face a similar carbon price.

In recognition of these concerns, the Carbon Pricing Leadership Coalition launched the High-Level Commission on Carbon Pricing and Competitiveness at its 2018 High-Level Assembly. The Commission is co-chaired by Feike Sijbesma, Chairman and CEO, Royal DSM; and Anand Mahindra, Chairman, Mahindra Group. The Commission brings together private sector leaders and senior government officials to explore the evidence base, the concerns of business, and the lessons that can be learned from carbon pricing systems across the world.

The Commission will publish a report, at the margins of the UNSG’s Climate Action Summit in September 2019, providing guidance to governments on the nature of these issues and how they can be addressed.


Members of the High-Level Commission


Anand Mahindra, Chairman, Mahindra Group

Feike Sijbesma, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Royal DSM


Andrew Mackenzie, Chief Executive Officer, BHP Group Limited

Anne M. Finucane, Vice Chairman, Bank of America

Bongani Nqwababa, Joint President and Chief Executive Officer, Sasol

Donald R. Lindsay, President and Chief Executive Officer, Teck Resources Limited

Eirik Wærness, Senior Vice President, Equinor

Felipe Calderón, Former President of Mexico, President of the Human Sustainable Development Foundation and Honorary Chair of the Global Commission on the Economy and Climate

Gérard Mestrallet, Honorary Chair of Board, Engie and Chair of Board, Suez

Goh Swee Chen, Board Member, Singapore Airlines

Hakan Hamdi Bulgurlu, Chief Executive Officer, Arcelik

Jean-Sébastien Jacques, Chief Executive Officer, Rio Tinto

Jos Delbeke, Former DG-Climate Action for European Commission and Senior Adviser for Relations with the Florence European University Institute

Lim Ah Doo, Chairman, Olam International Limited 

Lord Nicholas Stern, IG Patel Professor of Economics and Government, Chairman of the Grantham Research Institute and Head of the India Observatory, London School of Economics

Mahendra Singhi, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, Dalmia Cement (Bharat) Limited

Mari Elka Pangestu, Former Minister of Trade for Indonesia

Martin Lindqvist, President and Chief Executive Officer, SSAB AB

Sunny Verghese, Executive Director, Co-Founder and Group Chief Executive Officer, Olam International Limited

Trevor Manuel, Former Minister of Finance and Former Minister in the Presidency on the National Planning Commission for South Africa and Chairman, Old Mutual